What's The Matta

Shortbread

Recipe from Edmonds Cookery Book

This weekend I had the sudden urge to bake cookies. If you know me well, you know that I love shortbread. I’m not a big cookie/biscuit fan but I will never turn down a shortbread! I will eat an entire packet of shortbread cookies in one sitting!

My previous attempt at baking shortbread was an utter fail! From what I recall I probably added too much butter.

The key is to only add 250g of butter. Don’t panic if the mixture is crumbly and do not be tempted to add more butter.  Knead the mixture well in the mixing bowl and transfer the crumbly mixture onto a lightly floured surface. Knead until mixture comes together (and it will come together). Roll the mixture out gently. Form into tiny balls and press down with a fork/ cut into squares or rectangles/ use a cookie cutter.

(I was experimenting a tad bit and decided to add some to tiny cupcake/muffin trays….. they came out looking like perfect little cookies!)

Give this recipe a go! It’s simple and very quick!

The only downside….. now that I know how to bake perfect little shortbread cookies…. I will probably be baking them all the time! (time to practice some self control)

If you live in New Zealand, you probably have a copy of the Edmonds Cookery Book somewhere…. Or know someone who does. It’s a staple.

Ingredients:-

  • 250g butter, softened
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 1 cup corn flour
  • 2 cups standard plain flour

 

Method:-

  1. Preheat oven to 150 degrees
  2. Cream butter and icing sugar until light and fluffy
  3. Sift corn flour and flour together
  4. Mix sifted ingredients to creamed mixture
  5. Kneed mixture well
  6. On a lightly floured surface, roll the mixture out to approx 0.5cm thickness
  7. Shape to a circle or cut into pieces
  8. Place on greased/lined oven tray
  9. Prick with a fork
  10. Bake for 30 minutes
  11. Makes approx 30 to 40 biscuits (depending on size)

Xoxo Pink Panther

This entry was written by Pink Panther and published on August 6, 2012 at 5:18 am. It’s filed under Culinary artistry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Comment